On My Soapbox – Facebook Needs a Break

I think it’s time to step away from social media for awhile, specifically Facebook. Twitter is relatively safe but Facebook is about to make me “self-combust”. Friends? Really? Who has 500 real friends? I don’t. I have, like, four. Sure, there are people I like to stay in touch with but do these people really know me? Do they know what makes me tick? Nope. I’ve also found that you can’t be “safe” on Facebook. You can’t post opinions or real thoughts because there’s no anonymity. And people can be pretty vicious when they are hiding behind an application and don’t have to speak directly to your face.

I posted the following on my Facebook account today and I think it pretty well sums-up my opnion about That Damned Site. Will I say there? Yup. Will I say things I shouldn’t? Yup. Will I allow anyone to get in my face & make me feel bad about myself again there? NOPE.

With that…

“I want to share a perfect example of why I should have never allowed or engaged in political discussion on Facebook. I unfriended someone today (mutual) because they attacked me on a personal level because I said I was tired of hearing about politics. I won’t go into who, the reasons or exact details but it ended with this person saying they were “disappointed in me” and I wasn’t the person they “thought I was”.
I can’t even tell you what this person looks like. I don’t remember him. I’m not even sure how we were “friends” (And I won’t even get into why we have so many “friends” on Facebook who aren’t really FRIENDS at all.). But he got very personal with me, hit me below the belt and made assumptions about my character, made comments toward me and my family – all from me being “tired of hearing about politics”. I became a bad American because I was tired. I became a person of low character who didn’t have any experience with what it felt like to be afflicted by military service because I was tired. I became a person who didn’t know what it was like to have a bad outcome of war because I was tired. Oh, and of course, I became a “typical Democrat” because I was tired. (Btw, I’m not a Democrat…)

So what am I trying to say, really? Don’t assume you KNOW someone based upon some updates you might see in a public forum.

Most sane people don’t put their entire lives on display here – and for good reason. Before unfriending this person I sent the following words, and sent them feeling the hard-learned lesson, once again, that FACEBOOK ISN’T REAL LIFE. I was hurt with his words, yes, but why should I be? I don’t know him at all…yet, it did hurt, because words DO hurt. Social media makes people much braver because they can hide behind an application and hurl words at a screen, not having to say it to someone’s face. It’s why I won’t make that mistake again and why I’m sharing it here now. Maybe someone besides me will learn the lesson and perhaps think before you “speak” in this public forum. I said the following to him (edited for content) and I’ll say it in general – if you don’t know me TRULY, don’t make assumptions about what I know, live and feel:

“When I said I was tired of it all I meant politics IN GENERAL. I AM sick of it! I’m tired of people making it personal and having to DEFEND myself for believing something. I have that right – to be tired of it. All I’m trying to get across to you is that you don’t need to go there and don’t have the RIGHT to go there with someone you don’t really know. And especially in a public forum like this. The part you weren’t getting is that you are personally attacking me OVER POLITICS! It’s ridiculous! THIS is all I wanted you to consider. You know nothing about me. To say I’m not the person you think I am? You’re DISAPPOINTED IN ME? Seriously? You don’t even know me! Who might *I* be, exactly? Because you certainly had no idea about who I am AT THE ROOT, who my family is, what they’ve been through, my core belief system, what has happened in my life, who my family and friends are, what they’ve been through, what I experience on a day to day basis. Do you know any of that? If so, then you can hurl your disappointment. Until then, save it.”

And with that, I’m over and out.”

Yeah. That about says it.

~ by cinderellawasdelusional on November 8, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
